What’s the Difference? Little Neck, Cherry Stone, Top Neck, and Quahog Clams

updated Aug 11, 2022
We independently select these products—if you buy from one of our links, we may earn a commission. All prices were accurate at the time of publishing.
Post Image
(Image credit: Apartment Therapy)

Actually, it might be more fun to ask what these all have in common (besides being mollusks, of course!). Can you guess? These are actually all quahogs! Little Neck, Cherry Stone, Top Neck and Quahog all belong to the same species of clam and they just refer to how large the clam has grown.

What Is Quahog?

The quahog (pronounced coe-hog) is a species of hard-shelled clam and the one we most commonly enjoy in our chowders and po boys. All those other names – from little neck on up – are this same species of clam and just refer to how large the clam has grown.

What Are Their Differences?

Little Neck: The smallest size of clam, amounting to 7-10 clams per pound.

Cherry Stone: A little larger, you’ll get 6-10 cherry stone clams per pound.

Top Neck: These are sometimes also labeled as count neck clams, and they equal roughly 4 clams per pound.

Quahog: These big guys are also called chowder clams and weigh in at a mighty 2-3 clams per pound.

What To Do With Them

Which type of clam to buy depends on how you want to prepare them. The clams get tougher and chewier as they get larger, making these sizes ideal for chowders, stuffing, frying, and other cooked preparations. Choose smaller sizes when quickly steaming, grilling, or eating raw.

What’s your favorite way to enjoy clams?

(Image: Flickr member Jim Epler licensed under Creative Commons)