Recipe Review
Page 50
Brunch Upgrade! Crunchy, Deep-Fried “Eggs Benedict”Fine Cooking
We have to admit, making regular eggs benedict at home is somewhat of an undertaking for us, so pulling off a deep-fried version may be asking too much. But it’s so incredible looking! The soft, silky egg flecked with crispy bacon and covered in glistening, fried English muffin crumbs… Are you up for a challenge?
Mar 25, 2010
Polenta with a Leek and Mushroom Ragu
Every week we bring you our favorite recipes and other good eats from our friends at Serious Eats. This week we couldn’t pass up this meatless supper of polenta and leeks! Read on for this plus stir-fried squid, how to temper chocolate, favorite matzo recipes, and Cajun compound butter!• Seriously Meatless: Polenta with a Leek and Mushroom Ragu – Creamy, rich, and meatless. Delicious!• What Are Your Favorite Matzo Recipes for Passover? – Matzo brei? Apple cake?
Mar 25, 2010
Sweet or Savory: How Do You Like Your Irish Soda Bread?
It almost seems wrong pitting one type of recipe against another, but we realize that individual preferences can be quite strong when it comes to Irish soda bread. Did you grow up on the sweet Irish-American version? Are you a purist who sticks with flour, salt, baking soda and buttermilk? Or do you like to experiment with a few modern twists?Last year, Susie shared her mother’s recipe for a sweet soda bread filled with golden raisins and caraway seeds, dusted with sugar.
Mar 16, 2010
Old-Fashioned Vinegar Pie for Pi Day
Pi Day is Sunday! (It’s March 14, which is 3.14, or pi. Get it?) This mathematically-significant date has a sweet and serendipitous homophone, and we’re glad to take any excuse to eat extra pie. Are you making a pie this weekend? Let us suggest one possible candidate: One with a silky, melt-in-your-mouth filling, and a sweet tang at the end.Have you ever made a vinegar pie?
Mar 12, 2010
How To Make Sweet and Silky Crème Anglaise Sauce
We have to be very careful not to have leftovers whenever we make a batch of crème anglaise, otherwise we find ourselves sneaking spoonfuls whenever we pass the fridge. Also called English or stirred custard, this is a rich sweet sauce perfect for drizzling over fruit, a slice of warm cake, or heck, even pancakes!
Mar 11, 2010
Blood Orange Polenta Upside-Down Cake
We highlighted several sophisticated citrus dessert recipes from Bon Appétit last week, but the Blood Orange Polenta Upside-Down Cake was the one that really called out to us. We’ve made similar cakes before and loved their simple preparation. This one turned out to be a bit more complicated, but well worth the extra effort.We did come across a few stumbling blocks with this recipe, but the results were pretty fantastic, so we think it’s worth trying.
Mar 11, 2010
Roast Chicken with Nutmeg
Every week we bring you our favorite posts from our friends over at Serious Eats. This week they wax eloquent about crackers and peanut butter, tell you how to find a cheese CSA, and make two unusual yet delicious-looking cakes. Plus there was roast chicken with nutmeg! (Yes, nutmeg.)• Why Peanut Butter and Crackers Are a Beautiful Thing – Is this your kind of heaven?• Serious Cheese: How to Find Cheese CSAs Online – Sources of info about cheese shares.
Mar 11, 2010
Candy with a Crunch! Honeycomb Candy from the Seattlest Recipe Reviews
Crunchie bars are one of our absolute favorite British candies. Called Violet Crumbles in Australia, these are airy bars of caramel-like “honey comb” coated with a thin layer of chocolate. So far our addiction has been limited by the availability of the candy bar here in the states – but no longer!We had no idea that this candy would be so easy to make! Well…sorta.
Feb 24, 2010
Olympic Rings Cookies from Cakespy
Uh-oh! Another cute Olympic treat! This is one of our picks this week from our friends at Serious Eats. Read on for a few more favorites, including a tutorial on making clarified butter, and recipes for some of our favorite vegetables, like Brussels sprouts and broccoli raab.• Cakespy: Olympic Ring Cookies – Groovy!• Broccoli Rabe with Chiles and Garlic – Garlic and chili-infused oil? Yes please!
Feb 18, 2010
Ultimate Cheater Pulled Pork from The Splendid Table
We were craving pulled pork something fierce last week, so we got ourselves a nice pork shoulder and got looking for a good indoor recipe. We finally decided on a slow cooker pulled pork recipe from a book called Cheater BBQ: Barbecue Anywhere, Any Time, in Any Weather by Mindy Merrell and R.B. Quinn, which we discovered through this recipe reprinted a few years back on The Splendid Table radio show. And, people? You have got to try this recipe! The recipe is a snap.
Feb 17, 2010
Recipe Review: Blueberry Maple Syrup
Yesterday, we showed you our favorite recipe for light and fluffy pancakes, and several of you shared some great tips and recipes of your own. Now that we have the basics out of the way, let’s move on to the fun stuff – the toppings. Pure maple syrup is never a bad choice, but we’ve grown to love this simple blueberry maple syrup recipe that’s made with just two ingredients. Can you guess what they are?Yep, it’s blueberries and maple syrup. No big mystery there!
Feb 12, 2010
Heavenly Hots: Tiny Pancakes with Sour Cream Innards
A couple weeks ago Amanda Hesser’s Recipe Redux column in The Times Magazine had a recipe for some very unusual pancakes. They flipped the usual pancake recipe ratios upside down and called for two cups of sour cream, four eggs, and only a scant handful of flour to hold it all together. They sounded unusual, and tricky, but Hesser called them “feathery, creamy, tangy.” How could we not try them? A first batch of Heavenly Hots: predictably smushed.
Feb 3, 2010
Ultimate Lemon Butter Bars from Rose Levy Beranbaum
I told you the other day that I have been completely craving lemon, and that I had a lemon tart in my sights. But first I went back to the basics: Lemon bars. And not just any lemon bars. Rose Levy Beranbaum’s Ultimate Lemon Butter Bars.Beranbaum says that she developed this recipe to address two problems that lemon bars are prone to: A topping that is not firm enough, and a base that is too soggy.
Jan 28, 2010
Icebox Banana Cheesecake
In honor of eating a bit lighter this month we’ve made effort to scale back when it comes to sugar and fat. This recipe from The Hummingbird Bakery in London is packed with all the taste with far less guilt than a standard cheesecake brings you. Plus it tastes like sunshine on a plate and who wouldn’t want that?This recipe is a treat to make and a treat to eat, plus there’s no worry about cracking tops and water baths.
Jan 27, 2010
Looking Good: Baked Sweet Potato Fries
We have a serious, serious thing for sweet potato fries. Does a restaurant dish include the words “sweet potato fri…”? Say no more. You don’t even have to finish the final word. We’re there. So these baked sweet potato fries from Annie’s Eats look exactly right — slightly healthier, and with a great tip for getting a truly crispy outside.We love this simple, easy recipe for sweet potato fries.
Jan 27, 2010
What is Your Favorite Julia Child Recipe?
Julia Child’s 1960’s classic Boeuf Bourguignon has enjoyed a huge comeback thanks to the hit film Julie & Julia. But there are hundred’s of recipes in Julia Child’s repertoire. Which one is your favorite? Mine is pictured above, a delicious chocolate and almond cake called Reine be Saba (or Queen of Sheba). Read on for the recipe and let us know your favorites from JC!
Jan 25, 2010
Cooking Japanese: Nabemono
Nabe (cooking pot) mono (things, stuff) is a popular Japanese hot pot dish commonly served in the cold winter months. It is cooked table side and served communally. One thing I like about nabemono (in addition to its deliciousness!) is its versatility. There are so many different ingredients to choose from! During the cooking process, the broth becomes more flavorful. At the end, after all the ingredients are eaten, rice and egg are added to the seasoned broth and a porridge is made.
Jan 21, 2010
Recipe Review: Gwyneth Paltrow’s Quick Roast Chicken
I thought Gwyneth Paltrow’s recipe for roast chicken with potatoes from her website GOOP looked interesting, so I decided to test it in my own kitchen. The verdict? It’s quite good, actually. Just the kind of recipe to have on hand for when you want a casual but delicious meal in less than an hour. Read on for more details.The recipe calls for the chicken to be partially deboned and roasted with lemon, fresh herbs, garlic, and a tumble of peeled and blanched potatoes.
Jan 20, 2010
Snow Day Treat: How To Make Maple Syrup Taffy
The sun is finally shining again in our corner of the world, but there’s still a thick blanket of snow on the ground. So we turned to one of our favorite books, Little House in the Big Woods, and made a snow treat we’ve been wanting to try for years.We always loved the descriptions of making maple syrup and the subsequent maple taffy sessions in Laura Ingalls Wilder’s Little House in the Big Woods. (More about those scenes here.) So we finally decided to give it a try!
Jan 14, 2010
Lemon-Scented Pull-Apart Loaf from Leite’s Culinaria Recipe Reviews
We’re a little embarrassed to write about this coffee cake today. Not because it wasn’t good – because it was. Crazy good, in fact! No, we’re sheepish about how quickly we absolutely devoured the entire loaf…in about five minutes. Check out the gallery for the incriminating photo evidence.In our defense, there were four of us doing the devouring and we were absolutely starving by the time it was finally shaped, baked, and cooled.
Jan 13, 2010
Cooking Japanese: Sukiyaki
One element of Japanese cuisine is that it celebrates the seasons. Japanese dishes feature what is fresh and seasonal, and are cooked in such a way that is appropriate for the seasonal weather. During the winter, hearty soups such as oden are commonly found, as are hot pot meals such as sukiyaki.Sukiyaki is a type of one-pot dish that is cooked table side in a shallow cast-iron pot. Traditionally, it contains beef, but some parts of Japan use pork.
Jan 13, 2010
Looking Good: Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins
We have been thinking a lot about muffins this week; we often neglect to make muffins, and we wonder why! They are quick, easy, and simple to clean up. They are great little snacks during the day, and they are awesome for grab-and-go breakfasts too. So we were really pleased when reader Elise sent us this tip about a pumpkin chocolate chip muffin recipe.Elise says: I found this delicious recipe for Pumpkin Bread/Muffins at thefreshloaf.com that I wanted to share! They have such a great texture.
Jan 8, 2010
How To Make DIY Spicy Tuna Sushi
Since I am watching my finances these days like most people, I’ve been making a lot of food at home, including my own sushi. One of my favorites is spicy tuna, and with a little experimentation, I figured out how to make my own!DIY Spicy Tuna SushiIngredients:1 slab of raw sushi-grade tuna OR 1 package (about 1 cup) of preground raw tuna belly – sometimes Japanese markets have these. If you can’t buy sushi-grade tuna near you, order it from Catalina Offshore Products.
Dec 2, 2009
Sweet Potato & Cornbread Hash with Veggie Sausage Gravy
Did you make Ivy Manning’s Apple Cornbread Dressing with veggie sausage for your Thanksgiving meal? We did, and it was a hit with the vegetarians and the meat eaters. We used the leftover dressing and extra sausage to put together a breakfast hash with gravy, and you can easily adapt the recipe to use whatever leftovers you have on hand.
Nov 27, 2009
Colorful Cooking: How to Make Colored Pasta
Want to add a little color to your plate?! Lovely ribbons of green, red, and yellow pasta really bring a dish to life. They’re also as easy to make as they are to eat! Here’s how:To color pasta, all you need to do is mix a few cups of vegetable puree into the eggs before you begin mixing the dough. This ensures that the color gets distributed evenly throughout the pasta.
Oct 28, 2009
Applesauce Cake with Cinnamon Cream Cheese FrostingGourmet
We don’t know exactly what’s going to happen to Gourmet‘s gorgeous, gorgeous website now that the magazine is closing. But we’re getting our fix while we can, and this easy applesauce cake looks like the perfect weekend treat.There are times when we want to break out the round cake pans and our offset spatula and make a frosted layer cake. Then there are times where we want the ease of a cake that bakes in one pan and doesn’t require a lot of fuss.
Oct 9, 2009
Pumpkin Olive Oil Bread and Apple Cider Muffins Good Eats! A Weekly Roundup from Serious Eats
Every week we bring you our favorite cooking and eating from Serious Eats. This week Serious Eats is on a serious pumpkin spree, with pumpkin olive oil bread, pumpkin turkey chili, and more good fall cooking. Read on for these plus a sandwich with four (four!) kinds of cured meats from Nancy Silverton and a guide to keeping chickens in the city.
Oct 8, 2009
DIY Fall Appetizer: Fig Salami
Inside these cheesecloth packages are homemade salami, flavored with red wine, herbs and spices. But the main ingredient isn’t meat – it’s figs! These have some aging to do and won’t be ready for another three weeks, but let’s take a peek, shall we?Our fig salami are still in the early stages of the aging process – in another three weeks or so, they will have lost a lot of their moisture and have a nice firm texture. That’s the plan, anyway!
Oct 6, 2009
Birthday Cake Two Ways
To celebrate our daughter turning three, we had a feast with friends and family. She requested lobster, corn and beans and so lobster, corn and beans it was. More on that fiasco another time. What I want to tell you about today is the cakes.We’ve introduced her to very little sugar in her short little life so far, and in that spirit I developed a very low sugar vegetable-based cake for her second birthday called a Harvest Cake. It was such a hit we decided to do it again this year.
Oct 2, 2009
Minestrone Soup, Full of Leafy Greens Recipe Review
We’re not sure we’ve ever had two minestrones that tasted the same—which makes sense, because minestrone is really meant to be a hodgepodge. This Italian vegetable soup usually has tomatoes, white beans, and greens, but recipes vary wildly. This one is a keeper. Hearty, rich, and packed with huge bunches (three kinds!) of greens.There is one big caveat, something we didn’t read carefully before starting on dinner last night.
Oct 1, 2009
How To Fry-Poach an Egg
Have you ever fry-poached an egg? We think that this intriguing mash-up of egg terminology holds out potential for the ultimate breakfast egg.Reader Jennifer sent us her scrumptious-looking Croque Jardin, pictured above. The sandwich looks lovely and delicious, but we were arrested by her description of the “fry-poached” egg on top.Basically, a fry-poached egg avoids the rubbery white of a regular fried egg by combining two favorite techniques.
Sep 29, 2009
Dessert Recipe du Jour: Plum Crumble
Have you seen the latest irresistible recipe making the blog rounds? We’re speaking about plum crumble, a dish that Molly of Orangette just put on the menu at Delancey, and a dish that has a quite impressive lineage going back through Luisa Weiss and Marian Burros. But sources aside, this dish speaks for itself. It’s freaking fantastic.We love plums; they are one of our favorite fruits in late summer and early fall.
Sep 25, 2009
A Home-Cooked Weeknight Dinner (But Not By Me)
It pays to leave cookbooks lying about when my mother comes to town. This week she surprised us with two great mid-week home-cooked meals. All I had to do was take the picture.Last night’s spread was from Nate Appleman and Shelley Lindgren’s A16: Food & Wine (Ten Speed Press), a book from the acclaimed A16 restaurant in San Francisco that, despite it having come out a year ago, I hadn’t yet explored.
Sep 25, 2009
Quick Southern-Style Baked Beans from Pioneer Woman Recipe Review
“Woah, Nelly.” That’s how Ree Drummond begins this recipe, and we have to agree! We took one look at this bacon-topped casserole of smoky beans and knew we’d be making it soon. Fortunately, with lots of weekend cookouts and football parties to attend, we didn’t have to look far for an excuse!
Sep 16, 2009
Classic Recipe: Katharine Hepburn’s Brownies
Here’s a recipe that has been on our radar for a long time: Katherine Hepburn’s brownies. Yes, apparently Katharine Hepburn baked, and this recipe for fudgy brownies has been passed down in her name. We first heard about it from Laurie Colwin, and we bookmarked it then. But brownies are not our go-to dessert, and we took a long time to get around to trying these. That’s a shame.It’s a shame, because these, folks, are the perfect brownies. Well, at least we think so.
Aug 28, 2009
Chocolate and Vanilla: Two New Favorite Cupcake Recipes Recipe Reviews
School and work are back in session, and so cupcake season is fast upon us. We don’t bake a lot of cupcakes; we usually prefer the ease of one whole cake. But when it comes to school classrooms and workplace birthday parties, cupcakes are just so easy and fork-free. So we’ve been on the hunt for the ideal recipes for both chocolate and vanilla cupcakes, and now, the search is over.
Aug 26, 2009
Just Like Del’s? Frosty Frozen LemonadeMartha Stewart
We should have included this in our roundup of Street Fair Food, because it reminds us of the trademark Del’s Frozen Lemonade we see at every outdoor festival and beach boardwalk in the Northeast. This one, though, you can make at home in about two hours.Of course, Del’s Frozen Lemonade is usually pretty soft; this looks like it’s scoopable. But something this light, icy, and tart sounds about as refreshing as it gets on a hot day. Plus, it’s not just pure lemonade.
Aug 25, 2009
Summer Recipe: Cappuccino of Tomatoes & Mozzarella
Have you ever had a cappuccino — of tomatoes? Here’s a recipe that upends the traditional idea of a cappuccino and replaces it with tangy tomatoes and a froth of whipped mozzarella and cream.This recipe was developed as a pairing for Chablis. This wine, made with Chardonnay grapes, is one of our favorite types of wine to drink in the summer. Here are a few good tips on Chablis and Chardonnay; any one of them would go very well with this recipe.
Aug 21, 2009
Making Horchata: Which Rice Is Best?
Last week’s post on aguas frescas gave us a mean craving for Mexican-style horchata, a refreshing drink made with rice, cinnamon, and sugar. We decided to try making a batch at home and wound up making three, each with a different type of rice…In Spain, where horchata originated, the beverage is made with chufas, or tigernuts. Cooks throughout Latin America often use rice or morro, jicara, or sesame seeds.
Aug 20, 2009
Recipe Review: Rick Bayless’ Dairy Free Avocado Ice Cream
In accordance with last night’s Top Chef Masters events, we thought we’d share a recipe from Mr. Rick Bayless himself. This is one of our favorites and unlike his 27-ingredient Oaxacan Mole, this recipe only has 5 ingredients and doesn’t even require the stove!We loved Rick before, but even more once we discovered his Twitter obsession and his love for helping the home cook, our love could have turned to an infatuation.
Aug 20, 2009
How Easy a Pickle Can Be: The Zuni Pink Pickled Onions Recipe Review
Have you seen those hot pink pickled onions from the Zuni Cafe Cookbook? Over the last couple of years it seems like they’ve been everywhere in the blogosphere. We’ve been meaning to try them for a very long time, and we finally got around to it. Now we’re smitten. Who knew pickling was this easy?This recipe has a very illustrious pedigree. It was developed by Judy Rodgers of The Zuni Cafe, and subsequently swooned over by bloggers like Molly, Elise, David, and Matt.
Aug 20, 2009
Cool Down With A Cantaloupe Granita
A granita is a traditional Italian dessert of puréed fresh fruit, sugar, and water that is semi-frozen and then scraped or shaved. Similar to sorbettos and italian ices, granitas differ because of a much coarser texture. They are very simple to make and usually never contain more than four ingredients, and so versatile; you can use almost any seasonal fruit to make a granita.
Aug 4, 2009
Gorgeous! Ina Garten’s Spinach and Cheddar SouffléHouse Beautiful
If you want an impressive side dish (that really isn’t as hard as it looks), we think this is the one…Many people, including us on occasion, are intimidated by soufflés. There’s the fear of them falling flat instead of puffing majestically over the top of the dish.In reality, the only slightly tricky thing is whipping and then folding in the egg whites. The only other important step is to not open the oven while it’s cooking. (You can do that.
Jul 31, 2009
West African Ginger Drink
With faraway travel in mind this month, we have been watching online videos of the Australian television program “Food Safari,” which takes viewers into multicultural kitchens across the country. We recently tried a recipe from the Africa episode and have found our new favorite summer cooler: West African ginger drink.Non-alcoholic ginger beverages (sometimes referred to as ginger beer) are popular throughout Africa.
Jul 29, 2009
The Definitive Cobbler: Nectarine Cobbler from Bon Appétit
OK guys, this is it. If you bake just one cobbler this summer, this is the one.That’s a rather audacious claim, I realize, but this cobbler is just so good. It’s a proper cobbler: a biscuit dough enriched with egg to make a light, fluffy topping that really complements the tender fruit beneath.And ripe, tangy nectarines are also really perfect underneath that fluffy topping. They are already sweet (yes, drastically reduce the amount of sugar this recipe calls for!
Jul 20, 2009
Quick and Easy Gooseberry Jam
Last week we showed you the gooseberries we picked up while on vacation in Canada. Gooseberries are not usually found in our neck of the woods and so we were excited to make jam with the half pint or so we had left — call it a kitchen souvenir. Here’s a peek at this ultra-easy jam, which reminded us how quick and easy a small batch of jam can be.Gooseberries are naturally tangy, with tiny seeds inside berries with rather thick skins.
Jul 13, 2009
Escapes Food: Pancake with Jarlsberg Cheese
Have you ever been ordering breakfast at a restaurant and thought, “I want pancakes, but I’m also not sure I want an entirely sweet breakfast,” and then ordered a side of bacon, just so you’d have a savory bite, too? Well, this Dutch pancake may solve all your problems.
Jul 10, 2009
How to Cook the Perfect Burger The New York Times
Yes, we have talked about this before. We’ve written about making perfectly juicy burgers and how to build one (complete with diagram). But this weekend being a burger-noshing holiday, we thought more tips couldn’t hurt. The Times interviewed 30 chefs to find out what makes a good burger, and they’ve got some advice…There are tips about grinding your own meat—or at least buying meat with enough fat in it (most chefs said 30 percent fat is good).
Jul 1, 2009
Summer Pudding
Looking for a light no-bake summer dessert that still looks impressive?We’ve been waiting to try Summer Pudding until we finally had some summer weather. The dessert is a British classic and consists of bread layered with berries that have been cooked in sugar, water and a little bit of liquor. The bread and berry mixture goes into the fridge the day before. The whole operation took only about 30 minutes (and that’s with the photos)!
Jun 26, 2009
Look! Crazy Spaghetti Hot Dogs
We’ll give you a virtual high five if you can figure out how these were made. They’re part of a group of insane hot dogs we just found over at Woman’s Day…Did you figure it out?To make these spaghetti hot dogs, you stick raw spaghetti through chunks of hot dog and then boil the whole thing until the noodles are soft. Some of you may find this weirdly off-putting, but we actually think it’s kind of hilarious. And kids would love it.
Jun 19, 2009
Ketchup With a Kick: Add Curry Powder!
We recently experienced our first, glorious encounter with curry ketchup. Served with fries at a restaurant, it initially seemed like a gimmick, but with each subsequent bite, we became increasingly addicted to the bittersweet sauce. By the next day, it was all we could think of and we set out to learn more about this condiment.
Jun 17, 2009
Summer Project: Make Vegetable Maki Sushi With Kids!
Here’s a really fun and easy DIY project to do with kids this summer – hand-rolled vegetable maki sushi rolls! The ingredients you’ll need are cheap and easy to find. Making your own maki sushi rolls is a very simple skill that kids can pick up quickly, and since it’s all done with the hands, kids can actually “play” with their food for a change!
Jun 11, 2009
Grape Kabobsicles and Sunny Citrus Pound Cake Delicious links for 5.26.09
We feel like we’re stuck in something of a heat wave, and we’re already eager for icy summer popsicles. So these gorgeous yet ultra-simple frozen grape kabobs look fabulous!Today’s Delicious Links• Grape Kabobsicles – Simple brilliance. At the great raw food blog RawFoodCrafting.• Vegan Spoon Rest at Vegan Dish.• Taco Holder – Need a taco holder, anyone?
May 26, 2009
Shallot Tarte Tatin: Savory Twist on a Sweet Favorite
Onion lovers, take note. This caramelized tart, a riff on the classic apple version, calls for 28 shallots plus a gooey red onion jam.We saw this recipe on a new (to us), beautifully photographed food blog, O Pistachio. The tart is baked just like a tarte Tatin, with the pastry fitted on top of the caramelized onions. Then you invert the whole thing onto a plate to serve.
May 26, 2009
Quick Appetizer: Radish, Boursin, and Chive Tartines
Can you tell that we’re wild about radishes right now? They’re such a refreshing vegetable in the springtime, with their pleasant crunch and gorgeous color, creamy inside and scarlet outside. We threw together this very, very quick appetizer last weekend for some guests. We were subliminally inspired by Elizabeth’s afternoon snack suggestion, and these simple little tartines were a big hit.
May 26, 2009
Ever Heard of a Crespelle?
The Temporary Vegetarian is talking about them in The New York Times today. Here’s a hint: Emma encouraged us to make them last weekend…A crespelle is an Italian version of a crêpe. The main difference is that it is made with chestnut flour rather than regular flour, giving it a hint of sweetness.The one described in the article (discovered by the chef of Osteria del Circo in New York on a trip to Italy) was filled with ricotta, lemon zest, pepper, and parmesan.
May 13, 2009
Peach Cookies from Cafe Chocolada
Take a look at these peaches! Are ripe, sweet peaches in season already? Well, not exactly, but these look just as good… These are actually peach sandwich cookies (breskvice), a traditional Yugoslavian recipe. Medena of Cafe Chocolada says that she has tried many different versions of these cookies — some from Croatian sources, and some from friends.
May 6, 2009
Recipe Redux: Breakfast Poha with Coconut
This recipe has been on my mind for a long time — over a year, in fact. It was published right here on The Kitchn as part of a kitchen tour: Devesh and Tara’s Spice Pantry. It just looked so good, bright, and fresh — comfort food for spring. I had to try it myself!I made it for Easter, along with a spiced lamb roast and a creamy cucumber salad. It’s an extremely easy dish to make. In fact, it only takes about 20 minutes from start to finish. (A true breakfast dish!
Apr 23, 2009
Good Eats: Kumquats are Warheads for Grownups
Every week we round up our favorite eating and cooking from our friends at Serious Eats. This week the Grocery Ninja takes on kumquats, those sour little explosions of citrus, salty-sour inside, and sweet outside. There’s also really lovely pork tacos, a three-alarm dish of tofu, and a mouth-tingling cheese from Italy.• Grocery Ninja: Kumquats Are Grown-Up ‘Mega Warheads’ – Like Mega Warheads or Super Lemon, kumquats deliver a punch.
Apr 23, 2009
Appetizer: Tomato and Mozzarella Skewers with Basil Oil
Earlier today we told you about our cocktail party strategy of sticking to two or three dishes (rather than eight or nine) that look bountiful and feed a crowd. This is one we just served: tomato skewers piled high on a platter, dressed up with a little basil oil that takes two minutes to make.We’re basically taking a caprese salad and putting it on a stick, and no doubt you’ve seen a variation of these skewers on a buffet or two in your day.
Apr 17, 2009
Try This: Fresh Wasabi Root
While on a trip in Japan and browsing the local markets, I came across this green, watery root many times. It’s fresh wasabi root – yes, the same nasal-clearing green paste we mix with soy sauce and dip sushi in. What exactly is this root, where can you find it, and how do you prepare it? Read on …Wasabi is a plant in the same family as mustard and horseradish. It grows naturally along stream beds in mountain rivers in Japan, but can be farmed.
Apr 16, 2009
Homemade Pizza: Chicago-Style Deep Dish
Our homemade pizza efforts have always been of the thin-crusted variety. Living in Chicago, if we have a taste for a deep-dish, we reach for the takeout menus. But The Paupered Chef blog has come up with a recipe that has us itching to make our own.More on that in a minute.
Apr 14, 2009
Look! A Chocolate Apple Pie
We may upset some apple pie purists here, but, being chocolate lovers, we went a little cuckoo when we saw this pie from Kayotic Kitchen, a food blog from the Netherlands. Chocolate pie dough? Oh, heck yeah. Read on for a link to the recipe…Kay, the creator of this unusual delight, writes that it really isn’t too sweet—in case some of you are looking at the chocolate crust and chocolate-apple filling and thinking, “Overload.
Apr 1, 2009
Recipe Review: Chinese Broccoli and Five-Spice Sauce
When I brought home a bunch of Chinese broccoli from the farmers’ market, I figured I’d prepare it the same way I always do: blanching followed by a quick stir-fry with soy sauce and garlic or ginger (my dad always added imitation oyster sauce). But then I started poking around the Kitchn archives and decided to try this Cookie Magazine recipe Faith linked to last summer.This recipe starts out similar to my usual method.
Mar 27, 2009
Look! Ravioli with an Egg Yolk Inside
How simple and elegant- a single egg yolk nestled into a ravioli shell. If you’re into homemade pasta and have steady hands, it certainly makes for a pretty presentation when you cut into the ravioli filling and a fresh, sunny egg yolk comes out.We saw this on Martha Stewart’s TV show last week; it’s from the chef of the Bedford Post restaurant in Bedford, NY. And in case you think eating an entire bowl of egg yolks sounds too rich, read on.
Mar 16, 2009
How To Cure Corned Beef (In Time for St. Patrick’s Day)
St. Patrick’s Day is coming up, and we’ve decided to take it (and Meat/Un-Meat Month) as inspiration for A Project. We’ve always been interested in curing our own meat, and corned beef seems like the perfect place to start. In fact, we’ve talked about home-curing corned beef a lot, but this year we’re really doing it! There’s plenty of time between now and St. Patrick’s to cure your own corned beef. Would you like to follow along with us?
Mar 10, 2009
Is This the Easiest Cake Ever?
Last week, we spotted something called a Nantucket Cranberry Pie over at the blog Cooking Books. It’s a recipe from Laurie Colwin, and it involves so few ingredients and so little effort, we had to make it immediately. Yes, we know those don’t look like cranberries. Bear with us…There were no cranberries to be found at the grocery store (nope, not even frozen), so we went with a mixture of frozen cherries and blueberries.
Feb 27, 2009
Pretty (and) Easy: Polka Dot Cake from Country Living
We aren’t really whizzes with a pastry bag. In fact, we don’t own one. But we think we could get this look using a plastic bag with the corner snipped off. These dots don’t have to be too precise, or even the same size, to be charming…Polka dots are just cute; there’s no way around that. Dots of varying sizes all over a layer cake is simple enough to do, and they can hide imperfections in your icing (if, say, you have a few crumbs that got rustled up).
Feb 23, 2009
Look! Digging for Razor Clams on Not Martha
Have you ever gone digging for clams? We’ve always wanted to, and Megan’s post on her blog Not Martha makes us want to even more! Check out a few more of her clam-digging pictures after the jump…Regulations for clam digging (and other shellfish) vary from state to state, but it’s usually a simple process of acquiring a permit and then following the rules for number of clams per day and per person.
Feb 23, 2009
The Perfection of Simplicity: Potato Leek Soup
Two ingredients. That’s it. Well, if you want to be a stickler and count salt and pepper and a touch of olive oil, it’s five. OK, and water makes six. But the oil method is optional, so we’re back to five again but really, it’s two ingredients. Potatoes and leeks. Two of the most humble ingredients, plus the simple alchemy of simmering water, come together to make one utterly blissful, satisfying soup. Read on for the recipe.You can do anything to this soup.
Feb 18, 2009
Soup of the Day: Creamy Garlic (Knoblauchcremesuppe)
Knoblauchcremesuppe! Say that eight times fast. It’s actually a very simple thing, and it’s quite deserving of our soup of the day. Creamy garlic soup, an Austrian favorite.This soup is so simple and easy: just some onion and garlic, a little flour and a little milk. Toasted bread croutons and ta-da! Dinner. Sweet and simple.• Get the recipe: Knoblauchcremesuppe (garlic soup) at Dinner for OneHave a great soup recipe? Email us here if you have a recipe and photo to share.
Feb 10, 2009
Recipe Report: Quince Ratafia
Two months ago I started a ratafia. What’s a ratafia? Well, it’s a simple liqueur made from fruit steeped in alcohol. Or, as reader Bx put it, BOOZE FROOT.Want to hear how it turned out?Here’s the original post with the recipe:• Quince Ratafia: How To Make Fruit LiqueurI shredded a couple of quince fruit (delicious, heavenly things) and let them sit in a jar of pure vodka along with some sugar and a pinch of spices.
Jan 29, 2009