Product Review
Page 84
5 Essentials for Home Cooks from Sam Mogannam of Bi-Rite Grocery
I can’t think of a more perfect person to interview for our Expert Essentials series (see the whole series so far here!) than Sam Mogannam, owner of Bi-Rite Grocery in San Francisco.  Not only did Sam grow up in the grocery store, which was owned by his family, but he went to culinary school and worked as a chef before returning to Bi-Rite to reinvent it from a cooks point of view.
Apr 17, 2013
Back Bay Pottery: Rustic Yet Elegant Handmade Dinnerware & Tabletop
You put a lot of love and care into preparing a meal, so why not eat that meal off a plate that’s been just as lovingly created? That is precisely what’s so special about handmade dinnerware, and I just love the collection from San Luis Obispo-based potter Christine Silbaugh.Back Bay Pottery 1 Small Oval Platter, Choose Your Color, $18 2 Small Oval Dishes, Set of Two, $34 3 Deep Dinner Plates, Set of Two, $48 4 Porcelain Pears Sugar and Creamer Set, $79.
Mar 18, 2013
Red Stitch: Super Cute Handmade Potholders from Holland
Whatever your potholder style, we think you’ll like these whimsical handmade versions as much as we do! Red Stitch is the work of Ioana Weber, who hand-makes every potholder in her Etsy store. There are plenty of pretty patterns and colors to choose from — all unique and one-of-a-kind. (And with a sense of humor. Did you see the steak and eggs pair? We love that one!)Red Stitch potholders are made in and ship from Holland for €20.00 EUR per pair (about $27 USD).
Mar 11, 2013
Why This Is My Favorite Cake Pan
This old 8-inch round pan is the cake pan I reach for above all others for the simple reason that I know whatever cake I make in it will come out neatly and easily. Why? Because of the slider bar, which completely rotates around the pan, neatly separating the bottom and sides of the cake from the pan. Once a more common feature, it’s rare (although not impossible) to find the slider bar feature these days. Have you ever used one?
Jan 14, 2013
Clay, Cast Iron, Steel: Which Pizza Stone Material Is Best?
In every pizza lover’s quest to approximate a fiery-hot brick pizza oven at home, a pizza stone is first on the list of necessary equipment. But of the variety of materials available — stone, cast iron and even steel — which one is the best pick for you?Picking the right pizza stone depends on your personal needs and kitchen habits. Are you looking for a stone that produces an ultra-crispy crust? Does it need to move easily in and out of the oven?
Oct 10, 2012
The Best Bottles of Wine Under $15
How do you find a good wine that’s also a good deal? You could go off the recommendation of your local wine store (that’s usually what I do), or you could refer to Wine Enthusiast’s just-released 2012 Best Buys list. All of the wines on the list have high rankings and—get this—they’re all $15 or less!
Oct 9, 2012
No Time To Shop? 8 Freezer Staples for Stress-Free Entertaining
There are nights when you have a couple hours to shop, cook and arrange a knock-out appetizer spread to greet your guests…but what about those nights when you don’t? Even a last-minute gathering can be quick and stress-free if you keep your freezer stocked with the right supplies.• Nuts: Freezing nuts extends their shelf life and it takes just a few minutes of work to make them a little more special by toasting them in the oven with spices.
Sep 28, 2012
Blackcreek Mercantile & Trading Co: Cutting Board Oil and Handcrafted Goods
The Blackcreek Mercantile & Trading Co is all about wood—not surprising considering its founder is Josh Vogel, the man behind “woody American design” company BDDW. But instead of crafting furniture, Blackcreek Mercantile (which is based in Kingston, New York) focuses on small goods for the kitchen, most notably wooden spoons, cutting boards, and their proprietary-blend cutting board and knife oils.
Aug 8, 2012
Dish Soap Spout Dispenser from Haven
Jun 28, 2012
The Best & Worst Foods To Buy in Bulk
Is bulk buying the most efficient, time-and-money saving option? Not always. It really depends on what you’re buying. Here’s a quick cheat sheet to the best and worst foods to buy in bulk, as well as helpful bulk buying shopping and storage tips.A Cheat Sheet to the Best & Worst Foods to Buy in BulkBest: These are the best foods to buy in larger quantities.
May 17, 2012
Jars on the Table: 9 Cheap & Chic Ideas
Our love of meals in jars is no secret, but with their versatility and good looks, jars are useful for holding more than just food on the table. And if a plain glass isn’t your thing, we have a few ways to dress up even humble old spaghetti sauce jars. • For drinks: While they may not always be the best choice for every occasion, jars are a fun, casual way to serve drinks.
Apr 17, 2012
Young and Kenneth’s Winey Neighbor: A Boutique Wine Shop in Brooklyn
Who: Young and KennethWhat: The Winey Neighbor, a boutique wine shopWhere: Prospect Heights, Brooklyn Sometime last year I noticed work had begun on an empty storefront on Washington Avenue in my neighborhood of Prospect Heights, Brooklyn. My curiosity piqued—Man, please let it be something cool and not another boring real estate office—I was encouraged when I saw a blue and white polka dot awning go up, with a cheeky name: The Winey Neighbor. A wine shop with a sense of humor?
Apr 5, 2012
The Best and Worst Supermarkets
Do you shop at your nearest grocery store? If the answer is ‘no’ then welcome to the club! In a survey of 24,000 shoppers, almost half of them had a major gripe about their local grocery store—bothersome enough to make them travel further from their home for better prices, service, or selection. The survey, conducted by Consumer Reports, caused the magazine to rank 54 leading grocery store chains, including the likes of Walmart, Pathmark, Wegman’s, and Trader Joe’s.
Apr 4, 2012
The Kitchn’s Guide to Essential Cookware
What are the essential tools and equipment every cook needs in the kitchen? We’ve already shared our guides to essential prep tools and utensils and essential cooking tools. Today it’s all about cookware. As in our last guide, we’ve offered a few product recommendations in each category based on personal preferences, experience, and editor and reader reviews.
Mar 26, 2012
Fun with Hipstamatic: The David Loftus Foodie Lens and Film Pak
Love Hipstamatic for the iPhone? Like taking food photos? Then you should check out the the Loftus Foodie Lens and Film Pak inspired by London-based food photo artist David Loftus. It was released in December and it is “crafted to produce luscious food shots with incredible clarity in the center and blurring of the edges.
Mar 22, 2012
Smoother & Straighter Slicing: 4 Knives for Lefties
Knives, I have recently learned, are not necessarily ambidextrous. The bevel on a regular (ie, right-handed) knife does not always work in favor of left-handed motion. The scallops of a serrated knife are on the opposite side. Even the handle might not feel quite right. If you’re a leftie, it might be time to seek out a knife just for you.
Dec 14, 2011
Made to Last: 5 Classy Bottle Openers
There comes a time in your life when the notch on the back of your clunky manual can opener just doesn’t cut it anymore as a bottle opener, but you know that if you are going to spend more than $15 on the thing, it had better last. So here you are: five bottle openers classy enough to set out at a party and sturdy enough to stand the test of time.• Futagami Crescent Moon Bottle Opener, $25.
Dec 2, 2011
Mail-Order Turkey: Williams-Sonoma’s Organic Willie Bird Product Review
Now that you’ve seen how beautifully this turkey turned out, I can confess how much actually went wrong while cooking it. The turkey cooked in half the time I expected, while my guests were an hour late. When re-heating the turkey, I managed to forget it was in the oven. I neglected to remove the giblets. And so on.But in spite of all my mess-ups, this was still one of the best turkeys I’ve ever eaten.
Nov 17, 2011
It’s National Bundt Cake Day! 5 Favorite Bundt Pans
Bundt cakes are one of the easiest ways to make dessert for a crowd, since even the simplest pan turns out cakes that look elegant with just a dusting of powdered sugar. November 15 is National Bundt Cake Day, so why not celebrate by baking a cake in one of these five favorite bundt pans?Nordic Ware is the name we trust when it comes to bundt pans; they are sturdy, conduct heat evenly, and release cakes easily and cleanly.
Nov 15, 2011
Product Review: La Chamba Soup & Bean Pot
There’s a lot of praise for the La Chamba Casserole dish to be found on The Kitchn already, but I can’t resist joining in the love-fest with my newest crush, the La Chamba Soup & Bean Pot. I received this beauty as a gift several weeks ago and have been putting it through its paces ever since. Read on for my review.What is La Chamba? La Chamba is a line of clay cooking pots that are handmade in Colombia. The non-toxic clay naturally contains mica which makes it extra-strong.
Oct 28, 2011
Fall Cocktail Essential: Cranberry Liqueur
Looking for an autumnal addition to my liquor cabinet, I picked up a bottle of Clear Creek Distillery’s Oregon Cranberry Liqueur a few weeks ago and haven’t stopped experimenting with it since. Bright crimson and slightly sweet, it packs a cranberry punch in cocktails, homemade sodas — even dessert!I’ve been mixing the liqueur with vodka and tonic water over ice, which is a little bitter, a little sweet, and very refreshing.
Oct 17, 2011
Make or Buy? Chocolate Pudding
A little cup of chocolate pudding is one of the most perfect snacks ever, in my personal opinion. For kids or adults. Do you make your own or go for store-bought?Let’s do a three-way comparison for this one: Jell-O instant pudding mix, Jell-O pudding cups, and Martha Stewart’s homemade chocolate pudding. All costs were taken from Peapod Online Grocery unless otherwise noted.
Sep 23, 2011
Truly Magical: Mr. Clean Magic Eraser Cleaning Pads
I know, I know. Cleaning is usually way down on our list of things to get excited about, and new cleaning products are even further down. But have you discovered these “magic” eraser pads? They’re all they claim to be and more.The Magic Eraser is brilliant for those little kitchen-cleaning details that always seem so annoying: shining up faucets and fixtures, cleaning tile grout, wiping scuffs off the baseboards, and cleaning fingerprints from the fridge.
Sep 21, 2011
Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard? “But of Course!”
I’ve recently rediscovered Grey Poupon Dijon Mustard, much to my delight. It had fallen out of favor in my kitchen for several years, for reasons I cannot recall anymore. Perhaps it had something to do with the fact that it had become too ubiquitous or that Kraft Foods now owns the brand, thereby stealing any lingering notions of ‘authenticity.’But the truth is, Grey Poupon is a solid, classic choice for any pantry.
Sep 6, 2011
Can You Recommend a Good Sturdy Springform Pan?
Q: After making a couple of ice cream cakes (including this amazing S’Mores version) this week with a fabulously sturdy borrowed springform pan, I’m realizing that I’m due for an upgrade of my own. I’d love a recommendation of a good brand. My friend’s pan is Wilton, but it looks like her particular model is not being made anymore (and other Wilton ones have mixed reviews on Amazon).
Sep 2, 2011
Product Review: Blue Diamond Dark Chocolate Almonds
I discovered these unassuming almonds one day while shopping at the drugstore. Sweetened almonds are usually jam packed with sugar in the form of a hard candy coating and are not an ideal snack food (delicious yes, but just try limiting yourself to the serving size – not easy!). These so-called natural chocolate dusted almonds looked different. And they are! Totally snack friendly.Although the second ingredient is evaporated cane juice (duh, sugar!
Sep 2, 2011
An Attractive Extension Cord for the Kitchen
Every household has its backstage, jerry-rigged extension cord situations, especially in the kitchen where there never seems to be enough electrical outlets in the right location. Well, here’s one extension cord, brought to you from the wonderful Best Made Company, you’re going to want everyone to see!If you live in an older building, or one that has a poorly designed kitchen, then you know the value of extension cords.
Aug 15, 2011
Bargain Summer Red Wines from Trader Joe’s
A few weeks ago I posted on some Trader Joe’s wines. As I had purchased more I thought I’d taste through the remaining reds. As the last post showed, it can be hit or miss trying to keep within a $10 / bottle budget. Were these any better? Read on to find out…To be honest, I am personally not a big fan of buying wine in a supermarket, even if it is the much heralded and beloved Trader Joe’s.
Aug 11, 2011
Chef’s Knife by Coltellerie Berti
Chef’s Knife by Coltellerie Berti • $296 • Didriks This one is over the top. Just for kicks, I played around with this knife during the photo shoot for my new book last summer. That’s one of the fun things about a photo shoot that has a big room of props; you can use them all. So for a few days, I diced, chopped and minced all matter of fauna and flora with this excessively expensive and astoundingly beautiful knife. Its weight will melt a melon into two halves.
Jul 28, 2011
Good Wines at Trader Joe’s: Cheerful Summer Wine Picks
I realized that it is quite a while since I did a Trader Joe’s wine tasting. So on Monday I headed off to the Trader Joe’s Wine Store in New York City to see what I could find at less than $10 a bottle for easy summer sipping. Well, some gems and some disappointments — read on to see which I liked, and which I didn’t enjoy as much.As you all know Trader Joe’s is the name synonymous with ‘Two Buck Chuck’.
Jul 21, 2011
Help Me Find a Stovetop Toaster
Q: I live in a house that has been divided into efficiency apartments, which means I have a kitchen so tiny I can’t spare the room to put a toaster. I remembered seeing spatula-like stove top toasters in old movies. When I searched for what I thought that would be called, I came up with articles describing an $8 stove-top toaster that used to be available from MoMA, and it’s exactly what I was thinking of! But they no longer seem to sell it.
Jul 21, 2011
A Pre-Smoke Smoke Alarm for the Kitchen
A few years ago I decided to season my new wok. It was early in the morning, but still after my husband had left for work and before I had taken the dog for our morning adventure around the neighborhood.My wok was happily seasoning away in the oven — or so I thought. Suddenly, the integrated home smoke alarm went off with more force than a tornado siren, and I had firemen at my door. (Did I mention I was still in my PJs?
Jul 19, 2011
What Is the Best Mandoline to Buy?
Q: What is the best/ cheapest mandolin to buy?Sent by Mary via TwitterEditor: A mandoline (or mandolin) is one of my favorite kitchen tools. It lets you slice vegetables very quickly and, more importantly, to an absolutely consistent thickness. There are some things (a fennel salad, for instance) that are very difficult to make without a mandolin.I love my Benriner mandoline, and as it costs less than $20, it is also very inexpensive.
Jul 8, 2011
Fun & Functional: Star Wars Spatula Set
My fiancé is a huge Star Wars fan, so naturally the first off-registry gift we received was a set of Star Wars themed spatulas from Williams-Sonoma. I was initially skeptical of spatulas in the shape of Darth Vader and his stormtrooper minion, but to my surprise, these are actually excellent kitchen tools.Both spatulas are flexible enough to slide under thin pancakes, but rigid enough to use when flipping heavier items in a pan.
Jun 29, 2011
Bold & Beautiful: 8 Colorful Tablecloths for Eating Outside
Normally, we tend toward simple tablecloths, ones that will serve as a solid backdrop for our fabulous food and table settings without drawing too much attention of their own. But when it comes to summer, picnics, and eating outside, we say bring on the color!These tablecloths just scream summer to us. They’re bold, colorful, and a little flirty. Also, no one is likely to notice if we drop a little mustard or spill the wine!
Jun 15, 2011
Duty-Free Food Souvenirs: Cadbury Chocolates
Unless you’re lucky enough to shop at a grocery that carries international candy, you may only know Cadbury, the UK chocolatier conglomerate, just for their Easter eggs. Next time you’re passing through an airport, be sure to check for these creamy chocolates!Although Cadbury is no secret (Kraft purchased the company in 2010 and the duo are officially the world’s largest confectionary company), their chocolates still aren’t widely available in the US.
Jun 6, 2011
Bar Tool Checklist: The Basics – and Beyond Straight Up Cocktails and Spirits
How many tools does a home bartender really need? I find I’m of two minds on this. Sometimes I want to go keep things pared down to the essentials (just a jigger, shaker, bar spoon, strainer, and citrus reamer, ma’am). Other times I find myself eyeing spherical ice molds and ornate absinthe spoons. Here’s my own bi-level bar tool essentials/appealing extras list. Tell us, what’s on yours?
May 20, 2011
6 Impressive Yet Budget-Friendly Dinner Party Wines
Spring is in the air, Passover is in progess, Easter is this weekend, and it is Dinner Week on The Kitchn. Are you planning a special get-together or dinner party? Wondering which wines to choose? Do you want to impress guests with your wine selections, yet stay well within budget? Read on for tips on what to look for.
Apr 21, 2011
Good Gadget: Melissa Clark’s Butter Keeper
Butter keepers are intriguing. The ads in the back pages of cooking magazines claim they’re an almost miraculous way to keep butter fresh and spreadably soft all the time, but are they really that special? After reading Melissa Clark’s recent blog post about her pretty marble butter keeper, we’re convinced — they just might be the best thing since sliced bread.Clark says the first time she saw a butter keeper was in the kitchen of Paula Deen — how appropriate!
Apr 7, 2011
2 Spherical Ice Makers: MoMA vs. MUJI (+ Expert Tips) Straight Up Cocktails and Spirits
Spherical ice doesn’t just look great in a drink, it has practical advantages too. Today we’re going to look at two trays that can be used for making spherical, er, “cubes” at home. And as an added bonus, we’ll be talking to cocktail ice expert Camper English as well.Why Use Spherical Ice?Before we get started testing spherical ice makers, it’s worth stopping a moment to consider the benefits of using the round stuff in the first place.
Apr 1, 2011
Product Review: Noble Handcrafted Tonics
I’m usually a basic pantry kind of gal but every now and then I like to treat myself to something a little special to inspire my palate and uplift my spirits. With their boldly designed labels and innovative flavors, the Noble Handcrafted Tonics line of maple syrups and vinegars are just the kind of thing to snag my attention and reel me, helpless, into temptation.
Apr 1, 2011
CLEANCut: A Touchless Paper Towel Dispenser?
First there were no hands sensor soap pumps. Now it’s a touchless, no-hands-needed paper towel dispenser. The designers say that this design helps save a lot of paper towels in the long run — take a peek and see how it works.This paper towel dispenser works much like a dispenser in a public restroom: You move your hand in front and the paper towel rolls itself out.
Mar 28, 2011
Emma’s Favorite Knife: Wüsthof 7-Inch Santoku Knife
Let me start off by saying that I’m no knife whiz. I recognize the handle and the blade, but if you want a lively debate about bevels and hollows and rounded tips, you’d be better off finding someone else. My biggest concern is, “Does this knife feel good in my hand,” and perhaps more importantly, “Will it cut stuff?” With this Wüsthof Santoku knife, the answer to both questions is a definitive yes.
Mar 25, 2011
Emily’s Favorite Knife: Shun Bob Kramer Meiji Chef’s Knife
My Shun Bob Kramer Meiji Chef’s Knife and I have only been together for three months, but I have a feeling this relationship is serious. The most beautiful knife I have ever owned, it makes everyday chopping and slicing feel like a special occasion. This 6-inch Shun Bob Kramer Meiji Chef’s Knife was a gift from my stepfather, who thought its size and weight would suit my slender hands. He was right.
Mar 24, 2011
Dana’s Favorite Knife: My Super Sexy Carbon Steel Knife
I discovered my favorite knife in the free box in my apartment building’s lobby, its blade wrapped in a wad of paper towels and bound tight with a few old rubber bands. If it wasn’t for the obviously well-used, full-tang handle sticking out, smooth as satin and almost black with years of sweat and cooking oil, I may have passed it up. But who can resist such character, such potentiality? This clearly was a knife with a past, a knife that had done some time in the kitchen.
Mar 23, 2011
Faith’s Favorite Knife: Carbon Steel Chinese Cleaver
This month we are taking a closer look at our true favorite tools — the ones that have earned places in our own kitchens. Two weeks ago our team shared their favorite pepper mills, and last week we showed you our favorite pots and pans. This week? We’re talking knives. It’s very hard for me to choose a favorite knife out of my drawer; only hardworking knives earn a place there. But this one, the Chinese cleaver, is currently the one I reach for the most, and here’s why.
Mar 21, 2011
Product Review: Aveda Comforting Tea
One place I wouldn’t expect to find my new favorite tea is my hair salon. But that’s what happened last time I stopped in for a trim. And as it turns out, it’s no supermarket variety tea blend.Aveda salons and stores always have tea brewing. At first taste, I was surprised at the light flavor and sweet aftertaste. However, when I asked what the shop sweetened their tea with they told me it was a natural taste from the herbal blend and that the tea was unsweetened.
Mar 21, 2011
Faith’s Favorite Pan: Le Creuset 3 1/2-Quart Dutch Oven
What pan do you reach for over and over in the kitchen? Which pot or pan never leaves your stove? Each of us have been taking a few minutes this week to show you our own favorite pans, and I have been seeing a common thread of surprise in our stories. Many of us have shown you pans that we didn’t think at first would be all that useful. That is truly how I felt, believe it or not, about this small Le Creuset Dutch oven. When I first got it, I didn’t think I would use it at all.
Mar 18, 2011
Emma’s Favorite Pan: Calphalon Unison Nonstick Pan
I saw two ways to approach this topic: there’s the pan that I love (which would be my dutch oven), or there’s the pan that I find myself reaching for when it comes to those quick, no-brainer, feed-me-I’m-hungry weeknight meals. And that would be this Calphalon nonstick sauté pan. Surprised? Me, too.Size is the first thing in this pan’s favor. It’s eleven inches across and has a 4-quart capacity.
Mar 17, 2011
What Is the Best Prickly Pear Juice or Syrup?
Q: Here in Arizona, the weather’s starting to warm up and the wildflowers are blooming. It is definitely the beginning of margarita season! This year, I want to try making an Arizona classic: the prickly pear margarita.The thing is, I don’t want to use an overly sweet syrup, and I don’t want to go through the hassle of making my own (too many prickers). Can anyone recommend a good, not too sugary, commercial prickly pear juice?
Mar 15, 2011
Elizabeth’s Favorite Pan: Lodge Cast Iron Skillet
As I confessed in this little bio, I used to think cast iron fanatics were half crazy, drunk on the nostalgia of antique skillets passed down through generations or else overly self-satisfied with their ability to season the thing. Well, I was wrong. So, so wrong.I finally asked for a cast iron skillet for my birthday last year. My parents bought me the economical choice—an inexpensive Lodge pan that didn’t require the rust removal and re-seasoning that a thrift store find would.
Mar 15, 2011
Dana’s Favorite Pan: Marco Pierre White’s Copper Skillet
Is this the most used pan in my kitchen? Almost. It’s a little big for everyday use when I’m usually cooking for one or two, but I reach for it often and whenever I do, it brings a smile to my face. Read on for the story of my bargain basement Marco Pierre White copper skillet.I’m not a fan of most food celebrities, especially the ego-driven drama queens who like to throw things and yell at people.
Mar 14, 2011
Dana’s Pepper Mill: The OXO Good Grips Pepper Grinder
I’ve owned my OXO pepper grinder for about a year now and I like it well enough. It does a decent job of grinding pepper and has many convenient design features that make it a good, practical choice. It’s solid and dependable but, truth be told, its nothing to get excited about. If the OXO Good Grips Pepper Grinder were a location, it would be the suburbs. If it were a movie star, it would be Anne Hathaway. If it were a car, it would be a Prius.
Mar 9, 2011
Anjali’s Pepper Mill: Spice Market Mill from Anthropologie
I bought my pepper mill because it was on sale at Anthropologie and it was cute, not because I expected it to grind peppercorns as cleanly as mills five times its price. Should I have waited and saved up for a better grinder? I’m still not sure.I appreciate quality kitchen tools and agree that it is better to spend a little more on a tool that is a joy to use every day.
Mar 9, 2011
Trader Joe’s Pantry: Canned Smoked Trout
When concern about high mercury levels in tuna sent my household hunting for a replacement for our beloved tuna salad sandwiches, Trader Joe’s canned smoked trout stepped in. And honestly? I think it’s even more tasty &mdash and much more elegant — than plain old tuna. The fillets of fish are packed in oil, so they just need to be mixed with a dab of mayonnaise, a squeeze of lemon and some chopped herbs to make a flavorful sandwich filling.
Mar 8, 2011
Caution: The Story Of The Empty SodaStream Carbonator
Over the last several years, my husband and I have become rather attached to our SodaStream machine. It gives us a quick burst of bubbly without all the chemical-sounding ingredients that traditional soda pop is laced with. Everything has been wonderful until we picked up a new CO2 canister from a brick and mortar store and to our surprise — it was empty! In the past we’ve always used the mail-in exchange program that the company offers.
Feb 28, 2011
5 Heart-Shaped Pans For Valentine’s Day Cooking
Valentine’s Day is one of our favorite holidays and we look forward to it each year. There are so many different ways to surprise the loves in our lives — but what’s better than food? Even better: Food baked in a heart-shaped pan. Who could resist such a kitschy kiss from the kitchen?• Wilton 6-Cavity Silicone Heart Mold Pan, $9.99 at Amazon – The perfect silicone pan to create fun miniature-sized desserts for your sweetheart(s) on Valentine’s Day!
Feb 8, 2011
What Is the Best Decaffeinated Coffee?
Q: My mother in law LOVES good, whole bean coffee. Her birthday is in March, and we would like to make her a gift basket filled with new flavors to try. Seems easy — but here’s the catch: She wants decaffeinated coffee that’s a dessert blend — something nice to drink in the evenings before bed. I know she loves Starbucks coffee — but I would like to give her a few new brands to try out. Does anyone have any suggestions?
Feb 8, 2011
Product Review: Trader Joe’s Giant White Beans
I discovered this jar in the back of my pantry, and on an evening when my dinner options were sparse. Cracking open the jar, these giant (they really are huge!) beans didn’t seem like much. But when heated up with couscous and a dusting of freshly grated Parmesan cheese, I was surprised at the meal that resulted!At first glance, the beans seemed rather oily, but the tomatoes and chunks of spices kept my hopes up.
Feb 7, 2011
Cheap & Cheerful Red Wines To Banish the January Blues
It’s January and many of us are watching the pennies after some holiday spending last month. With that in mind I decided to check out what good red wines $10 or less would buy at a few local wine stores. My search yielded some gems — perfect for hearty winter fare.I set myself a few rules during my search.
Jan 27, 2011
Product Review: Trader Joe’s Gluten-Free Brownie Mix
I don’t use baking mixes very often, but I make an exception for gluten-free treats. If you don’t bake gluten-free on a regular basis, but want to make a GF treat for a friend, it’s hard to justify picking up a lot of specialty ingredients. So mixes like these brownies from Trader Joe’s are really helpful in these cases. I gave these brownies a try, curious to see if they could become my go-to gluten-free dessert.
Jan 19, 2011
Pantry Find: Martha Stewart’s Foil and Parchment in One!
Just when you think you’ve seen it all, good ol’ Martha comes up from behind with a pretty genius invention. Case in point: Martha Wrap, Foil + Parchment in One. This sounds crazy (and maybe a little scary!) but we are totally intrigued by the possibilities. The nice thing about the Martha Wrap is its versatility — you can use it for roasting, baking or even steaming.
Jan 11, 2011
Favorite New Utensil: Sauté Tool from Epicurean
We never would have thought we’d be completely smitten with something as basic and universal as a spatula. But this wood-composite spatula from Epicurean is one of the best tools to come into our kitchen in a long time! We’re thinking this would make a great gift for all our foodie friends and family this year.Epicurean calls this particular style of spatula a “sauté tool.
Dec 2, 2010
5 Modern and Stylish Nutcrackers
For those of you who have 143 pounds of walnuts (okay, maybe not that many!) or a nut lover on your holiday gift list, may we suggest one of these stylish European nutcrackers?(Shown above the jump, from left to right)1 Nusskubus Nutcracker designed by Adam+Harborth Design for Siebensachen (Germany), €21.50 at Connox2 Drosselmeyer Nutcracker designed by Joakim Norin and Erik von Schoultz for Drosselmeyer Design Group (Sweden), $37.
Nov 11, 2010
Product Review: Hurom Slow Juicer
Meet my new favorite kitchen appliance. A juicer is not a necessity (though some might insist otherwise!), but I’m definitely smitten with the Hurom Slow Juicer. Here’s why I’ve replaced my old juicer with this one…Centrifugal Juicers versus Masticating JuicersThere are two main types of juicers: centrifugal and masticating.
Nov 5, 2010
New Love: Cinnamon Toast Butter from Ronnybrook
Not to dismiss the innovation of Ronnybrook Farms, but why have we not come up with this ourselves? Sweet, cinnamon butter that makes knockout toast in one easy step (no messy sprinkling). Want to see what it looks like?Mmm. We first spotted it at Whole Foods but ended up buying it at the farmers’ market, straight from the Ronnybrook vendor. And we’ve been eating it every morning for the past week, spread on raisin bread and toasted.
Oct 26, 2010
Good Product: Martha Stewart Dutch Oven
A couple years ago, I was looking for a good-quality Dutch oven, but I couldn’t afford Le Creuset. Martha Stewart’s line of enameled cast iron pots were on sale, so I bought the 5.5-quart chili pot in robin’s egg blue and I have never looked back.You probably already know how indispensable a good Dutch oven can be. With it, I bake no-knead bread, make braised dishes that start off on the stove and finish in the oven, and cook perfect beans from scratch.
Oct 22, 2010
Oven to Table: Pretty Casserole Dishes for Fall
Delicious though they may be, there’s no denying that casseroles are humble looking things even at the best of times. Serving them from a pretty casserole dish can make all the difference.Casserole dishes come in all shapes and sizes: oval, rectangular, shallow, and deep. These days, you can find them in all different colors, too! We like ones that have handles or at least a little lip on the sides to make picking them up. After all, it needs to be functional as well as pretty.
Oct 14, 2010
Product Review: SousVide Supreme
We’ve seen Top Chefs make judges drool with their perfectly-cooked sous vide short ribs and heard Thomas Keller declare the wonders of sous vide cooking as evidenced in his French Laundry kitchen. But we’ve never really considered sous vide cooking at home. Until one of these machines was sitting on our counter, that is.What Is Sous Vide Cooking?At its most basic, sous vide cooking is all about temperature control. You vacuum-seal your food in plastic and submerge it in water.
Oct 7, 2010
Martha Stewart Cabinets from Home Depot
Remodeling your kitchen? Like Martha Stewart’s style? If you are looking for the clean, contemporary cottage and farmhouse style often seen in Martha’s magazines, then you might want to check out her new line of cabinets at Home Depot.Many of the 11 special-order cabinet styles are based on (or at least named after) Martha’s own homes. There are 32 styles of hardware to accompany the various cabinet styles, and complementing styles of Corian countertop and wall paint too.
Sep 14, 2010
Octavin: Premium Wine in a Box
Boxed wine has come a long way over the past 20 years. Considered for a long while as cheap and poor quality, boxed wines have steadily crept into the premium segment. With Labor Day weekend around the corner and multiple gatherings of friends and family on the horizon, maybe this is the time to re-consider Bag-in-Box. Great value, convenient, easy to transport, store, open and recycle — I am certainly a convert!
Sep 2, 2010
ApricotKing Orchards
We are rather fiendish about dried apricots in our house. When we’re not eating them straight from the bag, we’re throwing them in everything from salads to scones. But if we were addicted before, our discovery of ApricotKing Orchards and their online store has elevated things to a seriously dangerous level.I first sampled these apricots from ApricotKing Orchards a few weeks ago at the house of two of my friends in Boston.
Aug 27, 2010