10 Floating Kitchen Shelves That’ll Add Instant Storage to Your SpaceTools
They're one of the most stylish ways to organize your kitchen.
Feb 23, 2024
The 15 Best Places to Buy Kitchen Cabinet HardwareKitchen
Shopping for cabinet hardware can be overwhelming (so many options!) and underwhelming (so many not-good options!) at the same time.
Jan 5, 2024
I Finally Found Comfortable, Stylish Bar Stools at a Budget-Friendly Price, and I Actually Want to Sit at My Kitchen Island NowKitchen
These bar stools are three times more comfortable than my last ones!
Sep 21, 2023
You’d Never Guess These Floor Tiles Are Peel-and-Stick (and Only $13!)
Kitchen Tours
Totally change the look of your kitchen floors in just three easy steps.
Jul 5, 2023
This TikToker Created Instant Mood Lighting in Their KitchenKitchen
Setting an ambiance doesn’t have to break the bank.
Jun 28, 2023
This $30 Box Fan Comes in the Coolest Colors and Has More Than 4,500 5-Star ReviewsKitchen
Good news: You can finally upgrade from your boring white box fan!
Jun 6, 2023
Kokeena: Real Wood Ready-Made Cabinet Doors for IKEA AKURUM KitchensKitchen
There are a lot of good reasons to go with an IKEA kitchen if you’re remodeling, most notably the good price and modern design. However, if you’re not thrilled with IKEA’s door front options, there is a compromise: Kokeena, based in Portland, Oregon, offers real wood ready-made doors specially made to fit IKEA cabinets!
Mar 23, 2023
The Surprising Kitchen Upgrade I Would Splurge on Again and Again If I CouldKitchen
It basically tripled my kitchen’s counter space.
Mar 23, 2023
This $7 Upgrade Instantly Brightened Up My KitchenKitchen
It took more time to choose a color than it did to actually install.
Mar 17, 2023
A Love Letter to Formica, the Underdog of CountertopsKitchen
Yes, just like Grandma used to have. Here’s why I’ll sing Formica’s praises for years to come.
Mar 3, 2023
The 5 Best Organizers to Finally Help You Get Your Corner Cabinets Under Control
Shopping
Plus, why we don't believe in specialized organizers for upper cabinets!
Feb 23, 2023
The Best Clever Kitchen Linen Organizers You Can Buy Right NowKitchen
With these organizers, your kitchen linens will never be in the way or out of reach.
Feb 1, 2023
13 Temporary Products All Renters Should Know AboutKitchen
From tile tattoos to removable wallpaper.
Jan 21, 2023
The Most Surprising Kitchen Trend Prediction for 2023Kitchen
According to our pro designer survey.
Dec 29, 2022
The Best Lighting for Your Kitchen, According to Interior DesignersKitchen
Should you go for can lights, sconces, or chandeliers?
Dec 25, 2022
4 Under-Cabinet Lighting Ideas to Brighten Up Your Kitchen in MinutesKitchen
By adding lighting to this one key spot, you'll be able to make cooking that much better, more enjoyable, and, well, just plain visible!
Oct 20, 2022
7 Easy, Effective Ways to Keep Cats Off Your Kitchen CountersKitchen
The kitty equivalent of a "keep off" sign.
Aug 24, 2022
11 Ceiling Fans That Marry Form and FunctionKitchen
Aesthetics are important, but function is vital. These picks marry the two.
Aug 2, 2022
7 Easy Ways to Instantly Refresh Your Patio Without Breaking the Bank
Tips from The Kitchn
Every one of these picks is $40 or under.
Jul 7, 2022
These Renter-Friendly Cabinet Lights Have Totally Elevated My Small Kitchen
Shopping
My tiny kitchen now looks so luxurious!
Feb 16, 2022
This Hanging Cocktail Bar Might Be the Small-Space Hack You’ve Been Searching For
Shopping
We'll cheers to that!
Dec 1, 2021
The Best Kitchen Rug Isn’t Actually a Rug at All
Shopping
It's so easy to clean!
Nov 10, 2021
This Hidden Amazon Resource Is the Secret To Scoring Majorly Discounted Kitchen Must-Haves
Shopping
Don't forget to look for all the hidden discounted gems like appliances, tools, cleaning supplies, and more!
Apr 12, 2021
I Tried the $12 Old-School Cleaner That’s Been Making Faucets Shine for 70 Years
Cleaning Tips from The Kitchn
Reviewers LOVE this stuff!
Nov 17, 2020
The $13 Find That’ll Instantly Improve Any Dining Room or Living Room
Tips from The Kitchn
The name-brand version costs $350!
Aug 17, 2020
This Kitchen Mat Kickstarter Reached Its Goal in 7 MinutesKitchen
And Kitchn editors are obsessed.
Aug 3, 2020
20 Reasons We Love IKEA KitchensKitchen
If you’ve ever wondered whether the super-styled kitchens in IKEA’s annual catalog could actually work in a home like your own, wonder no more: here are 20 real-life examples of IKEA kitchens, as seen in reader homes published on Apartment Therapy and The Kitchn. Our readers are pretty crazy about IKEA kitchens, and we think the hype is justified.
Jul 18, 2020
Smart Solutions: Under-Cabinet LightingKitchen
If there’s one thing you should have in your small kitchen (well, besides this and this), it’s under-cabinet lighting. Small kitchens are a challenge to begin with, but especially when they have poor lighting. A few under-cabinet lights can go a long way towards making your cramped kitchen feel a little more cozy, not to mention way more functional and workable!Here are five under-cabinet lighting solutions to try:• 1 Utilitech 24 in. 60W Xenon Under Cabinet Light, $37.
Jul 15, 2020
This Mixology MasterClass Is Helping Me Take My At-Home Happy Hour to the Next Level
Shopping
Zoom cocktail party, here I come!
May 14, 2020
Rifle Paper Co. Just Launched New Products at Anthropologie, Including Lots of Holiday GoodsKitchen
If you love the Nutcracker, you'll love this.
Oct 8, 2019
Everything You Need to Know About Home Depot Kitchen Cabinets
Shopping
We spoke to someone at Home Depot and people who've gone through the process.
Sep 19, 2019
IKEA’s 2020 Catalog JUST Came Out! Here’s What We’re Most Excited For.
Shopping
It's here! It's finally here!
Jul 29, 2019
The Temporary Products Every Renter Should Know About
Renter Solutions
Say bye to your ugly floors without saying bye to your security deposit.
Jun 20, 2019
Our 28 Favorite Shops for All Things Kitchen-Related
Shopping
And your dining room!
Jun 14, 2019
All About: Enameled Cast Iron SinksKitchen
Are you thinking about renovating your kitchen? If so, then our Sink Spotlight series will help you. We’ve been looking at sink materials the last few weeks (we’ve already covered stainless steel and copper), and today we turn to enameled cast iron.Distinctive Features: You know cast iron is a common cookware material.
Jun 5, 2019
All About: Rubber Kitchen FloorsKitchen
If you’ve already renovated a kitchen or are just beginning the process, you know how overwhelming the details can be. Our Fittings and Material Spotlights are quick guides to basic kitchen fixtures and materials to familiarize you with terminology, pros and cons, and relevant reader reviews. Today we look at the pros and cons of rubber flooring in the kitchen:Origin: Virgin rubber comes from latex, the sap of rubber trees, which typically grow in tropical areas.
Jun 5, 2019
10 Things You Can Buy to Get the Look of Nigella’s Set KitchenKitchen
It was recently officially revealed that Nigella Lawson’s At My Table series is filmed on a set, not in her own kitchen. I hope you aren’t among the few whose illusions have been crushed! While Lawson has never claimed the set kitchen was her own home, some people were disappointed.
Jun 4, 2019
The Best Thing in This Super-Organized Kitchen Costs Just $10Tools
Camille Styles is a lifestyle blogger who posts swoon-worthy inspiration for just about every facet of life (recipes, fitness, entertaining, design, travel!) — not to mention, she’s a Home Style Expert for Target. So it’s not so surprising that, aside from having one of the most beautiful kitchens we’ve ever seen, she’d also have one of the most organized kitchens we’ve ever seen. Just look at those shelves!
May 24, 2019
The Compendious Coffee Chart: The Newest Wall Chart from Pop Chart Lab!Kitchen
It was only a matter of time. Pop Chart Lab, maker of cool posters charting everything from culinary tools to cocktails, now has a new poster devoted to coffee. It details all the varied ways one can enjoy that morning brew, “from Chemex contraptions to French presses to the simple automatic drip.”Each poster measures 24″ x 18″ and is signed and numbered by the artists, from an edition of 1000. Buy It!
May 2, 2019
Tips On Getting an Integrated Cutting Board For Your SinkKitchen
There’s just never enough countertop space in small kitchens, is there? One way around that is to get an over-the-sink cutting board, but integrated sink cutting boards are where it’s really at. They both extend your work surface and act as a sink cover when needed (hide those dirty dishes!).
May 2, 2019
Sensate: Kohler’s Touchless Kitchen FaucetKitchen
Take a moment and think about how many times a day you touch the kitchen faucet. Then think about how often your hands are messy or dirty when you do: you’ve got chicken juice dripping from your fingers, your hands are covered in flour from a vigorous bread kneading, or maybe your kids just came in from playing outside. If you’ve ever thought how convenient it would be to have a touchless faucet in the kitchen, then you should know… they do exist!
May 2, 2019
What One Kitchen Product Do You Recommend Splurging On?Kitchen
Here’s a question: if you had a friend come to you and say that she’s setting up her kitchen on a budget, but she’s put aside a little money to buy one really terrific thing for her kitchen, what would you tell her to invest in? We’re not talking about appliances, like refrigerators, stoves, or anything that requires serious manpower or a renovation.
May 2, 2019
Ever Wonder What Wine Goes Best With What Food? This Chart Tells YouKitchen
We’ve been on a bit of a chart kick this week. What’s not to love? Anytime we can look to a handy infographic to tell us what we’d otherwise spend a few minutes googling is to us a far better use of time, no? This wine chart is one such infographic. It’s not the be-all-end-all of wine and food pairings (and serious aficionados will want to nitpick, and that’s fine) but it is a good starting point.
May 2, 2019
Sitting Pretty: Perch Counter Stools from West ElmKitchen
A couple months ago I moved to a new city, a new apartment, and a kitchen that came with two very sad black mesh counter stools. (How sad? Food-encrusted-and-stained sad.) I’ve been keeping my eye out for a replacement set, and the Perch stools from West Elm are currently a favorite.I love the mix of powder-coated iron and teak wood. And do you see the angled bottom? That’s for resting your feet — a necessity for any stool, in my opinion.
May 2, 2019
4 Types of Under-Cabinet Lighting: Pros, Cons, and Shopping AdviceKitchen
The under-cabinet lights in my kitchen are chunky T12 fluorescents from the 1980s. They flicker and buzz and have that aggravating warm-up period every time you turn them on. In other words, they must go. This led me to research replacements, which I thought I’d share with you here! Whether you’re starting from scratch or, like me, are replacing old fixtures, here are some options to consider. 1.
May 2, 2019
IKEA’s New PS 2014 Collection Has Some Great Pieces for the KitchenKitchen
Have you seen what’s coming to IKEA this April? The new PS 2014 Collection hits US stores next week, and there are some fantastic pieces for the kitchen and dining room: The collection, titled “On the Move,” is designed for “the young, urban crowd living in smaller spaces,” according to IKEA’s press release. It has pieces for every room in the house, but I was naturally drawn to what was going on in the kitchen.
May 2, 2019
This Salad Spinner Changed My LifeKitchen
Let me introduce you to the salad spinner I grew up with. (It is not, by the way, a life-changing salad spinner. Just hold on — I’ll get to that one.) I had a feeling I’d find it on eBay, and here it is. “Vintage Copco Design Model Sam Lebowitz 604 USA Made.” I didn’t realize it was a designer item, but now I know.
May 1, 2019
10 Ways to Channel Chip & Joanna Gaines (for $50 or Less)Tools
Texas-based husband-and-wife team Chip and Joanna Gaines might be best known for their HGTV series, Fixer Upper — where they fix up decrepit old homes, always adding their signature farmhouse style — but among other projects they also own Magnolia Market, a store that sells wares that perfectly embody the couple’s design aesthetic.
May 1, 2019
10 Budget-Friendly Faucets We LoveKitchen
A designer I interviewed for a story a few years ago told me that faucets are like jewelry for the kitchen. If he meant that jewelry is expensive, then I get it. Because faucets can be super expensive! In fact, when making this list, I looked at some other sites and their “cheap faucet” stories included options that cost up to $500. (That’s not cheap! Even comparatively!). So, for this list, I decided to cap the most expensive option at $150.
May 1, 2019
Before and After: Costco Is the Reason for This Affordable Kitchen RenovationTools
This vacation home is in a totally dreamy spot and boasts amazing views, but it had a few issues involving the words “filthy,” “particle board,” “mauve,” and “sagging joists.” The new owners were able to resolve all of these issues in a reasonably affordable and prompt way, thanks in part to standard cabinets ordered online … from Costco! Read this tale and beware, future homebuyers.
May 1, 2019
6 Fun Things You Probably Didn’t Know About TargetTools
For someone who doesn’t travel much, I got to go on a lot of fun work trips this year. During the summer, I went to Aldi’s headquarters just outside of Chicago. In September, I went to the Staub factory in Northern France. And just before Thanksgiving, I went to Target’s headquarters in Minneapolis. It was a good year! Especially because these are three of my favorite brands. With the Thanksgiving frenzy, I didn’t get to tell you guys about my Target trip. So here goes!
May 1, 2019
If You Love Breakfast, You Have to See This Smart Storage SetupTools
Just the other week, we wrote about a Target cart that’s taking the internet (or, at the very least, the Instant Pot Facebook community) by storm. Turns out, Target sells a round utility cart that’s the perfect size and shape for storing your Instant Pot. (If you haven’t read that story, we’ll wait!) And today, in more Cart News, we bring you yet another smart use for another cart that’s sold at Target.
Apr 30, 2019
This Hidden Section of Amazon Is Better than the Dollar StoreKitchen
Well, it’s official: We just found our new favorite Amazon section. This collection deemed as “Bargain Finds” is filled with some of Amazon’s cheapest items across the site, all aggregated into one easy, scrollable feed. Organized by curated sections (women, men, gifts, electrical — plus our personal favorites, home decor and household), you can find everything from cute baskets to organize your pantry to pretty pillows for your breakfast nook.
Apr 30, 2019
Before and After: This Pantry Got Totally Made Over with Cheap Supplies from IKEA and a Dollar StoreTools
A pantry is always a wonderful thing to have, but this one needed a bit of help becoming its best self. With the addition of two shelves, four baskets, and $100 worth of jars, this pantry is now organized, user-friendly, and so soothing. Here are the issues the kitchen’s owner was determined to resolve: “The pantry was just super crowded. There was no system and it was hard to find the item I needed for cooking. Since the pantry is not that deep, there was a limited amount of space.
Apr 30, 2019
6 Places for Finding Cheap Kitchen CabinetsTools
If you’ve shopped for kitchen cabinets lately, you, like me, may have wondered how to become independently wealthy. So far, I’ve managed to avoid ever having to buy cabinets, but as I come closer to jumping off the high dive into a full reno of our kitchen How much are we talking? Don’t be surprised if it’s tens of thousands of dollars. A midrange major kitchen remodel runs more than $63,000, says Remodeling’s 2018 Cost vs. Value report.
Jul 20, 2018
This $16 Gadget Is the Best Thing About My Rental Kitchen
Shopping
While my kitchen did not come with a dishwasher, it did come with one little gadget that I'm totally obsessed with.
Mar 26, 2018
18 Delightful Breakfasts on Trays to Make You Feel Like a DuchessKitchen
It’s Breakfast Week at The Kitchn, and also the week before Mother’s Day, so that means we would be remiss if we didn’t at least mention breakfast in bed. But we’re going to do more than just mention it. We’ve gathered 18 of our favorite breakfast-tray-in-bed inspirations that will have you brewing your coffee and then crawling back under the covers.
May 4, 2015
A First Look at Assembling IKEA’s New Kitchen Cabinets, SEKTION: Part 1: ConstructionKitchen
This week we’re learning more about IKEA’s new SEKTION kitchen cabinets, thanks to the help of Dan Goldman from Brooklyn’s PANYL. Now we’re about to see SEKTION in action! Earlier this month Dan and Ron Youmans of The Kitchen Couple installed a SEKTION kitchen in a Boerum Hill, Brooklyn rental apartment. Here’s a play-by-play of their installation experience.
Feb 5, 2015
The 6 Kitchen Tools These Two Cooks Love the MostTools
Who cooks and eats here: Christan Vick and wife Jenna Novic Where: East Atlanta, Georgia See their kitchen: Christan & Jenna’s Blended East Atlanta Kitchen Rent or Own? Own Christan and Jenna’s kitchen is a blend of modern (IKEA cabinets, wire shelving), vintage finds, and family heirlooms. Their 60s style ranch house has limited storage, so everything in the kitchen has to get used regularly to justify the space.
Oct 8, 2014
6 Ways to Maximize Your Trip to the Farmers MarketGroceries
Who shops and eats here: Batya Stepelman of Sparrows & Spatulas, along with her husband, Matt Berman, and their young sons, Otis and Theodore See her kitchen: Batya Stepelman’s Open, Garden-Powered Kitchen Where: Denver, CO Rent or Own? Own We recently toured the open, garden-powered kitchen of Batya Stepelman and were inspired by her city garden and how she finds ways to bring healthier meals and more vegetables to her family’s table.
Sep 18, 2014
Young and Kenneth’s Winey Neighbor: A Boutique Wine Shop in BrooklynGroceries
Who: Young and KennethWhat: The Winey Neighbor, a boutique wine shopWhere: Prospect Heights, Brooklyn Sometime last year I noticed work had begun on an empty storefront on Washington Avenue in my neighborhood of Prospect Heights, Brooklyn. My curiosity piqued—Man, please let it be something cool and not another boring real estate office—I was encouraged when I saw a blue and white polka dot awning go up, with a cheeky name: The Winey Neighbor. A wine shop with a sense of humor?
Apr 5, 2012
Martha Stewart Cabinets from Home DepotKitchen
Remodeling your kitchen? Like Martha Stewart’s style? If you are looking for the clean, contemporary cottage and farmhouse style often seen in Martha’s magazines, then you might want to check out her new line of cabinets at Home Depot.Many of the 11 special-order cabinet styles are based on (or at least named after) Martha’s own homes. There are 32 styles of hardware to accompany the various cabinet styles, and complementing styles of Corian countertop and wall paint too.
Sep 14, 2010