Are Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?

Are Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?

192b4b2e2dd5371bcaa8301841ec50f4d8a6e2bb
Sheela Prakash
Feb 7, 2018

Whether you're simply pouring them into a bowl with milk or whipping up marshmallow-loaded treats, it's hard to beat the reliable simplicity of Rice Krispies cereal from that blue box. Since they're made of rice, you might be wondering if they're gluten-free. The answer to that question may surprise you.

Are Rice Krispies Gluten-Free?

Rice Krispies are, in fact, not gluten-free. Yes, the cereal is made from rice, which is naturally gluten-free, but because of the malt flavoring used in the recipe, the cereal itself is not gluten-free. Malt flavoring is made from barley and barley is a whole grain that is closely related to wheat, therefore it contains gluten and should be avoided if you have celiac disease or are following a gluten-free diet. Kellogg's was actually making a line of Rice Krispies that was gluten-free but, due to poor sales and manufacturing issues, they discontinued it.

Related: 5 Ways to Improve the (Admittedly Nearly Perfect) Rice Krispies Treat

The good news is, however, that there are a handful of other brands of crisped rice cereal that are gluten-free. Nature's Path makes gluten-free crispy rice cereal, as does Barbara's and Erewhon. These brands can be found at Whole Foods and in the natural foods aisle of many other grocery stores. The key is to look for a crisped rice cereal that isn't made with malt flavoring and isn't made in a facility that processes wheat. Take a look at the ingredient list and, most importantly, look for an official stamp or seal on the box that marks the product as a gluten-free one.

moving--truck moving--dates moving--dolly moving--house moving--cal Created with Sketch. moving--apt