Leaving Town? Drop Off Your Knives to be Sharpened

Leaving Town? Drop Off Your Knives to be Sharpened

Yesterday Sara Kate posted a great how-to on sharpening your knives at home. If you have the tools, it's easy to do. But just like there are people who prefer to buy pizza dough rather than make it from scratch, there are some of us who prefer to leave our knife sharpening to the pros. The only problem is that we miss them while they're gone. Here's one solution—plus a slew of sources... We have very few, very essential knives, so being without them is a hassle. What if we need to slice an onion for dinner? But we have quite a few weekends away on the books this spring and summer. So we're planning to take our knives to Broadway Panhandler in Greenwich Village on our way out of town. They take two days, which means our knives will be ready to pick up when we get home. We're on vacation, our knives are on vacation... Everybody wins! There are some places that will sharpen while you wait. The old-school knife grinding guys who drive around NYC neighborhoods clanging a bell like the ice cream man are one option. You can read about them here: • The Knife Grinding Trucks of Brooklyn (look in the comments to see others, like Mike on the Upper West Side) Joanna says there are similar trucks in Chicago. Dana says there are knife sharpeners at many of the farmers' markets in San Francisco. You can drop off your knives, do your shopping, then pick them up. Here are more suggestions from our contributors, based on where we all live. This list is by no means complete, and we'd love to hear about the best sources in your city. Add them in the comments, please, so we can compile a more comprehensive list. BOSTON Kitchen Arts 161 Newbury Street 617-266-8701 www.cobrandit.com/kitchenarts/ Stoddard's Cutlery in Newton 360 Watertown Street 617-244-4187 www.stoddards.com CHICAGO Northwestern Cutlery 810 West Lake St. 312-421-3666 www.northwesterncutlery.net The Chopping Block 4747 North Lincoln Ave. 773-472-6700 www.thechoppingblock.net The Wooden Spoon 5047 North Clark 773-293-3190 www.woodenspoonchicago.com LOS ANGELES Gary's Knife Sharpening area farmers' markets (check website for his schedule) 310-560-3258 www.garysknifesharpening.com Ross Cutlery 310 South Broadway 213-626-1897 www.rosscutlery.com NEW YORK Broadway Panhandler 65 East 8th Street 866-266-5927 www.broadwaypanhandler.com Gracious Home various locations around the city 800-338-7809 www.gracioushome.com Henry Westpfal & Co. 115 West 25th St. 212-563-5990 Samurai Sharpening Services by Margery Cohen Chelsea Market, in front of Bowery Kitchen Supply (Wednesdays and Saturdays only) 79 Ninth Avenue www.samuraisharpening.com SAN FRANCISCO Bernal Cutlery 415-902-6531 www.bernalcutlery.com Jivano's Cutlery Service 3674 18th Street 415-552-7997 www.jivanos.com Of course, you can always get your knives sharpened by mail. Let us know your favorite sources! Related: Weekend Project: Sharpen Your Knives (Image: Flickr member jackenhack, licensed for use under Creative Commons)
Created with Sketch.