Cheerios Go Gluten-Free

Cheerios Go Gluten-Free

435731679e6b9f054ae8affcee280ee49a44f0b3?w=240&h=240&fit=crop
Cambria Bold
Feb 13, 2015
(Image credit: Cheerios)

Beginning in July, all Cheerios cereals will be gluten-free. Even though oats, the main ingredient in Cheerios, are naturally gluten-free, oat crops are often contaminated by wheat, rye, or barley in fields or transported in trains that carry other grains. To solve this problem, General Mills devised a new filter to remove gluten grains.

The reason for doing this is clear: "People are actually walking away from cereal because they are avoiding gluten," says Jim Murphy, president of Big G cereals. "We can’t afford that."

Read more: Cheerios Will Now Really Be Gluten-Free from The Wall Street Journal

Created with Sketch.