Passover has a lot of inherent food restrictions. The no bread thing is a given. But oats, barley, spelt, and rye are also off limits, as is anything made from wheat flour (which is basically everything). For many Jews, particularly those of Eastern European (Ashkenazi) descent who tend to be more stringent, corn, rice, legumes, soybeans, lentils and all sorts of other unexpected staples are also off the table. Phew. Throw a macrobiotic guest or a severe allergy into the mix, and planning a meal for the seder can feel intimidating.
But believe me — someone who has hosted a Passover meal for vegans (after all, I used to be one), a gluten-free cousin, and a nut avoidant friend — it can be done.
Here are five tips to craft a delicious and inclusive meal.